GULF COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD

Thursday, June 5, 2014

The Gulf County School Board met in regular session Thursday, June 5, 2014, at 11:45 (Agenda Workshop) and 12:00, at their Administrative Office in Port St. Joe. The following board members were present: Chairman Linda R. Wood, Vice-Chairman George M. Cox, Danny Little, Billy C. Quinn, Jr., and John Wright. Superintendent Norton and Attorney Costin were also present.

Agenda Workshop: Chairman Wood called the agenda workshop to order at 11:45. The Board reviewed handouts to the June 5 meeting packet.

- [. CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Wood called the meeting to order at 12:10 P. M.
- **ADOPTION OF AGENDA:** On motion by Mr. Wright and seconded by Mr. Cox the Board unanimously approved the amended agenda to include the addition of pages 3A, 3B, 4A-4G, and 12.

||| SPECIAL RECOGNITIONS:

The Board recognized the Wewahitchka Elementary School Rookie Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Stephanie Bailey, and the Gulf District Schools Teacher of the Year, Miss Tracy Bowers. They also recognized the Port St. Joe High School Odyssey of the Mind team which recently performed at OM World competition.

- IV. **HEAR FROM THE PUBLIC:** None.
- V. **CONSENT ITEMS:** On motion by Mr. Wright and seconded by Mr. Quinn the Board voted unanimously to take the following action:

Approved Budget Matters and Payment of Bills. (SM:13-226)

PERSONNEL: (SM:13-227)

Approved Derek Kurnitsky's resignation effective the end of the current school year.

Approved Kenny McFarland's resignation effective the end of the current school year.

Approved Diane Clark's retirement letter effective July 31, 2014.

Approved Judy Griffin's retirement letter effective February 14, 2014.

Approved Sue Gannon's transfer to an instructional position effective school year 2014-2015.

Approved Sandra Cook as Port St. Joe Elementary School Principal effective June 9, 2014.

Approved Tracy Bowers as Wewahitchka Elementary School Principal effective June 9, 2014.

Approved the 2014-2015 Administrative Staff as follows:

Debbie Baxley (Adult School Principal and Workforce), Jay Bidwell (Wewahitchka High School Principal), Tracy Bowers (Wewahitchka Elementary School Principal), Bill Carr (Assistant Superintendent for Business Services), Sandra Cook (Port St. Joe Elementary School Principal), Greg Layfield (Director of Maintenance and Transportation), Duane McFarland (Port St. Joe High School Principal), Lori Price (Director of Instruction), Melissa Ramsey (Director of Curriculum & Staff Development), Martha Weimorts (Director of Special Services), and Sissy Worley (Director of Finance).

Note: Time for assumption of duties was addressed and approved at the meeting.

Approved reappointment for the following exempt employees for the 2014-2015 school year:

Janie Adkison, Debra Anderson, Angie Benavides, Mary Lou Cumbie, TidaLee Daniels, Diana Dykes, Ann Fisher, Brenda Fisher, Rebecca Hamm, Barbara Layfield, Susie McFarland, Wanda Nixon, Mary Ann Peak, Marty Riley, Tony Strange, Kathy Thomas, Terry Thompson, and Caroline Villasenor.

Approved Christy Wood for a Wewahitchka High School math position effective August 11, 2014.

Approved Walter "Buck" Watford's transfer from Wewahitchka Highs School to Port St. Joe High School effective school year 2014-2015.

Approved Shirley Williams for a 4-hour position as school food service cashier and lunchroom worker at Port St. Joe High School effective school year 2014-2015.

Approved Debbie Peak's transfer from Port St. Joe Elementary School to Port St. Joe High School effective school year 2014-2015, with summer transitioning.

Approved Janet Lanford's transfer from Port St. Joe High School to Port St. Joe Elementary School effective school year 2014-2015, with summer transitioning.

	06/05/14
	Page 2
	Approved summer employment as listed below for June and paid from Title 1 funds:
	Port St. Joe Elementary School: DeEtta Smallwood (6/2-30/14), Jo Clements (6/2-13/14), Katrina Glass (6/2-5/14)
	Wewahitchka Elementary School: Ashley Davidson (6/2-20/14), Renee Lynn (6/2-30/14), Doris Jean Whitten (6/2-5/14)
	Approved Darlene Ake as the 2014 Summer VPK teacher.
	Approved Debra Setterich as a substitute school bus driver.
	<u>SURPLUS:</u> (SM:13-228)
	Declared the following items as surplus, their removal from Wewahitchka Elementary School inventory, and disposal according to board policy:
	Computers: 92050316, 92050317, 92050318, 92050340, 92050315, 22066685, 22050307, 92050362, 92040237, 22056655,
	92040276, 92050363, 92050351, 92050358, 92050381, 22066683, 22066687, 22066692, 22066689, 92070441, 22086777
	Projectors: 221068277, 22106830, 22106831, 22106832, 22106837, 22106838, 22106843, 81103039, 22046647, 22046648
VI.	PROGRAM MATTERS: On motion by Mr. Wright and seconded by Mr. Little the Board voted unanimously to take the following action:
	Approved the Erate Consulting Contract. (SM:13-229)
	Approved the 2014-2015 Maintenance Contract for all copiers in the district. (SM:13-230)
	Approved the Contract with EMCS for Professional Services. (SM:13-231)
VII.	SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT:
\//III	DOADD MEMBER CONCERNS.
VIII.	BOARD MEMBER CONCERNS:
IX.	ADJOURNMENT: Chairman Wood adjourned the meeting at 1:00 P. M.
1/1.	