GULF COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

The Gulf County School Board met Tuesday, May 6, 2014, in a special closed-door session to conduct a Student Expulsion Hearing at Wewahitchka Elementary School. Superintendent Norton recommended three Wewahitchka Elementary School students be allowed to attend Gulf Academy in lieu of expulsion for violating the District's Zero Tolerance Policy (possession of marijuana on campus). On recommendation by Mr. Wright and seconded by Mr. Quinn the Board unanimously approved the recommendation to place all three students in Gulf Academy.

GULF COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

The Gulf County School Board met in regular session Tuesday, May 6, 2014, at 5:15 P. M., C. T., (Agenda Workshop) and at 5:30 P. M., C. T., (Board Meeting) at the Charles Whitehead Public Branch Library in Wewahitchka. The following board members were present: Chairman Linda R. Wood, Vice-Chairman George M. Cox, Danny Little, Billy C. Quinn, Jr., and John Wright. Superintendent Norton and Attorney Costin were also present.

BOARD MEETING AGENDA:

- [CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Wood opened the meeting at 5:30 C. T.
- II. **ADOPTION OF AGENDA:** On motion by Mr. Wright and seconded by Mr. Cox the Board unanimously approved the amended agenda to include the addition of pages 3.01B and C and the replacement of pages 3.03 and 7.03.
- **HEAR FROM THE PUBLIC:** None
- **CONSENT ITEMS:** On motion by Mr. Wright and seconded by Mr. Quinn the Board voted unanimously to take the following action:

Approved the April 8 Minutes. (SM:13-207)

Approved Budget Matters and Payment of Bills. (SM:13-208)

PERSONNEL: (SM:13-209)

Approved Sara Joe Wooten's letter of retirement effective August 31, 2014.

Approved Dorothy Ash's letter of retirement effective May 23, 2014.

Approved Tessa Anderson's request for Maternity Leave effective April 14, 2014, through May 23, 2014.

Approved Genevieve Baughman resignation effective at the end of the 2013-2014, school year.

Approved Krystal Terry's request for a one-year leave of absence to care for her young daughters.

Approved the following summer maintenance workers:

Port St. Joe Area: Hunter Baumgardner, William Ramsey III, Bryce Godwin

Wewahitchka Area: Cordale Green, Rashard Ranie, Justin Smith Grass Cutters: Josh Dailey (Port St. Joe), Ben Ranie (Wewahitchka)

Approved Tyler Worley for a Work Study / Intern temporary position working through the summer session to primarily assist the athletic department.

Approved Gloria Gant and Angel Parker be paid two hours each per week to assist with providing necessary services to gifted students.

Approved the following annual contract Instructional employees for reappointment for the 2014-2015 school year:

Port St. Joe Elementary

Tessa Anderson, Jessica Brock, Karen Butts, Lori Childers, Bonnie Finch, Ann Gingell, Kendall Hicks, Anne Johnson, Anna McFarland, Pausha Player, Kara Taylor, Deborah Wade

05/06/14

Page 2

Wewahitchka Elementary School:

Kayla Bailey, Stephanie Bailey, Daphne Lister, Julie McMillian, Christina Morrill, Ashley Taunton, Heather Taylor

Port St. Joe High School:

Sandra Cook, Josh Dailey, Angelo Jardina, Kimberly McFarland, Reina Nixon, John Palmer

Wewahitchka High School:

Debra Ake, April Bostwick, Dennis Kizziah, Kendra McDaniel, Kimberly McMillion, Brittany Smith

District Level:

Lindsay Fisher, Jennifer Holloran, Judith Husband, Carol Kelley (Part Time), Serena Mirabella, Johna Pittman,

Laura Suber, Judy Williams, Kristin Wooten

Approved the following annual contract Non-Instructional employees for reappointment for the 2014-2015 school year:

Port St. Joe Elementary School: Jennifer Bailey, Paulette Best, Stacey Dyer, Tina Nicodemus,

Wewahitchka Elementary School: April Causey, Carolyn Ranie, Sherry Whitfield

Port St. Joe High School: Antoinette Chambers, Courtney Cummings, Dona Jones,

Kenny McFarland, Stephanie Newsome

Wewahitchka High School: Candace Mills

District Office: Ben Ranie, Susie White

Maintenance: Mike Wood, Harold Mangum

Bus Drivers: Buddy Caswell, Paul Davis, Mike Dunn, Barbara Gautier, Robert Pelc,

Michelle Rivers, Mary Lou White, Shirley Williams

STUDENT MATTERS: (SM:13-210)

Granted the parental request for Eric and Kyle Reid to continue their education in the Bay County International Baccalaureate Program for the 2014-2015 school year.

OUT OF STATE TRAVEL: (SM:13-211)

Approved the Port St. Joe High School Odyssey of the Mind Team to travel to Ames, Iowa, May 27 – June 1 to participate in the World OM Competition.

SURPLUS: (SM:13-212)

Declared the following items as surplus and approved their disposal according to board policy:

Port St. Joe Elementary School:

3 Computers: #62040227, #92040154, #92050322; CVC Edit Recorder #51022312; Epson Projector #92110125; Epson Laser Printer #51002225; Computer Software #92040192

Port St. Joe High School:

#61063463 (Treadmill), #61053407 (Smartboard), #61073522 (Projector), #62110388 (Projector), #6183547 (Recorder), #92070420 (Projector), #06296048 (Camera), #62000103 (SuccessMaker Software), #62050240 (ELS), #62050241 (ELS), #62050247 (Read 180), #92040194 (Guiding Reading), #92040221 & #92040223 (ELS), #22096802 (Canon), #61052494 (Fryer), #61073532 (42" TV), #61033334 (Shredder), #62050250 (Test Reader), #61912898 (Oven), #62050250 (Dance Pad), #61963049 (Projector), #61053404 (Projector)

V. **PRGRAM MATTERS:** On motion by Mr. Wright and seconded by Mr. Quinn the Board voted unanimously to take the following action:

Approved the 2014-2015 School Calendar, Food Service Calendar and 12-Month Employee Calendar. (SM:13-213)

Approved the recommendation not to participate in the summer food service program. (SM:13-214)

Approved the FairPoint Communications Contract for Ethernet Service. (SM:13-215)

Approved advertisement of the following policy changes: 2.90, 3.80, 4.10, 4.11, 4.18, 4.19, 6.62, 8.14. (SM:13-216)

VI SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT:

VII. BOARD MEMBER CONCERNS: On motion by Mr. Quinn and seconded by Mr. Wright the Board unanimously approved travel expenses for Mr. Cox for the June FSBA meeting in Tampa.

VIII. **ADJOURNMENT:** Chairman Wood adjourned the meeting at 6:00 P. M., C. T.